skip navigation

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

By Wyant, 11/22/19, 1:00PM CST


2019 Hall of Fame

A 54 year coaching veteran still actively coaching and three more coaches that won state titles headline the 2019 Tennessee Football Coaches Association (TnFCA) Hall of Fame class.

Current Brentwood High assistant coach Tom Crawford, longtime Donelson Christian Academy coach Dennis Goodwin, former Milan coach Jeff Morris and former Bruceton coach Rod Sturdivant will be inducted into the TnFCA Hall of Fame at 9 am on Saturday, December 7 at the Life Church in Cookeville, Tennessee.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Class is the sixth class the TnFCA have inducted and this year’s class have a combined 807 wins and have won five state titles in four different classifications (Class A, 1A, 2A and 3A).

“Once again, we are excited to introduce a new class of highly deserving coaches and contributors into our TnFCA Hall of Fame,” TnFCA President Thomas McDaniel said.

“As an association, we welcome the opportunity to acknowledge worthy men whom have given so much to this wonderful game. This class represent the very best across our state form east to west and across multiple generations.”

The four coaching biographies are listed in alphabetical order below

Tom Crawford

  • A 54 year coaching veteran who started coaching in 1965 and is currently coaching with his son Ron at Brentwood high school
  • In his coaching career, Crawford has been involved in 335 wins with 158 coming as a head coach and 177 as an assistant
  • Head coach at Dyersburg Junior High (1965-67), Dyersburg High (1967-70), Jackson Central Merry (1971-74), Shelbyville (1974-79 and 1983-88), Moore County (1980-82), Clarksville Northeast (1989-92) and Lavergne (1993-2001)
  • Since 2002, Crawford has been an assistant coach at Brentwood high school where he won a 2002 5A state title
  • Dyersburg (1967-70)
    • Made the Lions Bowl in 1968
  • Shelbyville (1974-79 and 1983-88)
    • District Champions in 1976 and 1987
    • District Coach of Year in 1976
    • Undefeated Regular Season in 1987, Class AAA playoff berth, finished 11-1 lost to McMinn County in second round
    • Back to Back Lions Bowl Champions in 1976 and 1977
  • Moore County (1980-82)
    • 1982 Duck River Valley District Champions
  • Clarksville Northeast (1989-92)
    • Made two bowl games while at Northeast
  • Lavergne (1993-2001)
    • Made first and second playoff appearances in 1995 and 1996
    • Won school’s first playoff game in 1996
    • Made four bowl games at Lavergne in 1994, 1997, 2000 and 2001)


Dennis Goodwin

  • DCA head coach for 25 seasons (1993-2018)
  • 220-87 overall record
  • DCA made playoffs all 25 seasons under Goodwin
  • Made four state title games (1988 in Class A, 1996 and 2004 in 1A and 2017 in Division II-A)
  • Won two state titles both in Class 1A in 1996 and 2004)
  • Still serving as DCA Athletic Director


Jeff Morris

  • Milan head coach for 22 seasons (1996-2017)
  • 222-68 overall record
  • Won 10 or more games in 12 different seasons)
  • Milan made playoffs 21 of 22 years under Morris
  • Milan playoff record is 53-19 under Morris
  • Won two state titles (2A in 1998, 3A in 1999)
  • Four runner up appearances (2A in 2008, 3A in 2009, 2011 and 2012)


Rod Sturdivant

  • Hollow Rock Bruceton Head Coach (1981-2003)
  • 207-70 overall record
  • Bruceton made 20 consecutive playoff appearances under Sturdivant (1983-2002)
  • Playoff record under Sturdivant was 38-19
  • Won Class A state title in 1989
  • Two Runner up Appearances in 1990 (Class A) and 1995 (1A)
  • Hollow Rock Bruceton Director of Schools (1981-2013)