skip navigation

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

By Greg Wyant, 12/18/17, 11:15AM CST


2017 Tennessee Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame Inductees

The Tennessee Football Coaches Association (TnFCA) is pleased to announce their fourth Hall of Fame class which is a five member group that will be inducted in a ceremony during the TSSAA state championship weekend.

The five  Hall of Fame members in this year’s class are Ensworth’s Ricky Bowers, Stewarts Creek’s David Martin, Knoxville Webb’s David Meske, former Maryville coach and current Furman assistant George Quarles and Lewis County’s Bobby Sharp.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, December 2 at the Life Church in Cookeville, Tennessee.

The Life Church and the TnFCA will present the Hall of Fame breakfast at 9 am and the induction ceremony will follow starting at 9:30.

This distinguished  group of Hall of Fame coaches have combined to have an overall record of  1,152-406 and

their teams combined to make the TSSAA  state playoffs 113  times and won 28 state titles in five different classifications during their phenomenal coaching  careers.

“Now in our fourth year of selecting members to our Hall of Fame, the TnFCA board of directors is extremely pleased to announce our 2017 Hall of Fame inductees,” TNFCA President Thomas McDaniel said.

“These five legends of Tennessee football epitomize not only successfully coaching, but more importantly integrity, leadership and  mentoring to countless young men through this great game.”

Included below is a closer look at the five coaches accomplishments.

Ricky Bowers

*Enters his 13th year as the head coach at Ensworth as he started the football program in 2004.

*Overall coaching record is 185-43 (81.1%) coaching at MBA (1994-2001, 81-17 record) and Ensworth (2004-present, 106-26)

*His teams have won seven state titles in nine title game appearances

* Won three state titles in four appearances at MBA in (1999, 2000 and 2001), won four titles at Ensworth in five tries (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013), all state titles were in Division II-AA

*Teams have made 18 Playoff Appearances under Bowers (eight at MBA, 10 at Ensworth) and he has a 31-11 record in playoffs

*Teams have won 10 or more games in a season, 11 times in his career, five times at MBA, six at Ensworth

David Martin

*Enters his fifth season at Stewarts Creek, where he started the football program back in 2013 and led the Red Hawks to back to back winning records and their first playoff appearance in 2016.

*Coach Martin has a 228-122  overall coaching record as the head coach at four different stops: Columbia Academy (1989, 2-8), Westmoreland (1990-91, 12-9), Goodpasture (1992-2012, 199-79) and Stewarts Creek (2013-present, 15-26)

*He has won three Class 2A state titles (1995, 1999 and 2001) and has played in eight title games (1995, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2010)

*Teams have made 24 Playoff appearances under Martin (1991 at Westmoreland), 22 straight trips at Goodpasture  (1992-2012) and 2016 at Stewarts Creek and he has a 51-18 record in playoffs.

*Teams have won 10 or more games 10 times under Martin (1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2010)

David Meske

*Coach Meske is the longest tenured coach in the Volunteer state as he will start his 33rd year at Knoxville Webb in 2017.

*His overall coaching record at Webb 254-120 (68%)

*The Spartans have won seven state titles (1996 in 2A, 2006 in Division II-AA and 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014 in Division II-A) in 10 title game appearances

*Webb has made 26 playoff appearances under Meske and he has a 37-19 record in the playoffs

*Webb have won 10 or more games nine times in Meske’s career (1989, 1990, 1996, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016)

George Quarles

*Served as head coach at Maryville for 18 seasons (1999-2016) and is currently in his first season as the Associate Head Coach and Tight Ends coach at Furman

*Led the Rebels to 11 state titles in 15 title games and has an overall record of 250-16 (.939%)

*Won 4A state titles in 2000-07 and 6A titles in 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014

*Maryville made 18 Playoff appearances under Quarles and he had an 80-7 (.919%) Playoff Record

*Rebels won 10 or more games in all 18 seasons under Quarles

Bobby Sharp

*2017 will mark the 30th season for Sharp patrolling the Lewis County sidelines, which is the third current longest tenured in the state behind David Meske (33 years at Knox. Webb) and Jeff Porter (31 years at White House)

*The Panthers are 235-105 under Sharp and have made 27 Playoff appearances

*Lewis County have made six Quarterfinals rounds (1994, 1995, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2013) and one Semifinal round (2013) under Sharp

*Lewis County have had 10 seasons of at least 10 wins under Sharp (1995, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2013)

*Sharp also led the Panthers to six undefeated seasons in 1995, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008 and 2013

Tom Weathers

*Head Coach at three different programs: Red Bank (1973-2001), Dade County (GA) (2002-03) and Soddy Daisy (2004-07)

*Overall record is 248-131 in 35 years as head coach: Red Bank (228-89), Dade County (4-16) and Soddy Daisy (16-26)

*Teams made 16 playoff appearances under Weathers (15 at Red Bank: 1978, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001; (1 at Soddy Daisy in 2004)

*Red Bank won the 5A state title in 2000 and finished undefeated at 15-0

*Red Bank had six 10+ win seasons under Weathers in 1984, 1988, 1990, 1994, 1997 and 2000

*Had 3 Undefeated regular seasons in 1988, 1990 and 2000